Website: Go to website
Find it

A Dream of Love Foretold in the Coffee Grounds

Coffee Concerts Series

April 28, 2024

Süreyya Opera House, Bahariye Caddesi 29, Kadıköy, 34710 Istanbul

The musicians of the Istanbul Chamber Orchestra (conductor: Hakan Şensoy), together with the distinguished Italian pianist Marcello Mazzoni, perform Franz Liszt’s 1850 Liebesträume, a piece that was originally written for solo piano but is to be heard on this occasion in an arrangement by Hakan Şensoy; Liszt’s 1849 Totentanz (‘Dance of the Dead’) for piano and orchestra, a product of the composer’s well-known fascination with death – in the early 1830s, he would go down into prison dungeons to see those who had been condemned to die; and the neo-classical Concerto Grosso No 2 (1952), scored for string quartet and string orchestra, by the Swiss-born American composer Ernst Bloch (1880-1959).

Website: Go to website ......
Find it
Buy the latest issue
Or browse the back issues here
Issue 66, December 2023 Turkey’s Centenary Issue
£ 15.00