Find it

From Romance to Resonance: Aromsa Youth Orchestra

Romantan Resonansa

May 17, 2024
Tickets from

Süreyya Opera House, Bahariye Caddesi 29, Kadıköy, 34710 Istanbul

The Aromsa Youth Chamber Orchestra (Aromsa Genç Oda Orkestrası), conducted by Can Okan, will begin their programme with the Romance in C major, Op. 42, written in 1904 by the Finnish composer Jean Sibelius (1865-1957).

The next piece to be heard will be the Guitar Concerto by the American composer Prof. Fredrick Kaufman, a former trumpet player with the Woody Herman band who is also the author of the groundbreaking study The African Roots of Jazz. In this work, which incorporates folk music from Turkey and Bulgaria and is to receive its first performance in Turkey at this concert, the soloist will be Mesut Özgen, to whom the work is dedicated.

Finally, the orchestra will play Tchaikovsky’s ever-popular four-movement Serenade for Strings, Op. 48, composed in 1880.

Find it
Buy the latest issue
Or browse the back issues here
Issue 66, December 2023 Turkey’s Centenary Issue
£ 15.00