- What’s On
This Palladian villa, set in woodland by the Thames, was designed by John James in 1710 for the politician James Johnston with a baroque octagon by James Gibbs, which was added for entertaining George II’s Queen Consort, Caroline, who favoured Johnston, a former diplomat in Hanover. The house was given its present name after Louis-Phillippe, Duc d’Orléans, was exiled here during the Napoleonic wars.
The house was demolished in 1926, but the outbuildings and octagon were saved by the efforts of a local figure, the Shell heiress Nellie Ionides, who left them and her collection of 18th- and 19th-century pictures to the borough. Richmond Borough’s extensive art collection is now housed here and it includes a Study Room that has memorabilia of Sir Richard Burton, who went to school in Richmond and is buried in a curious tent-shaped mausoleum in nearby Mortlake. There is also a gallery of contemporary work at the House, and there are workshops and talks.
Cornucopia has joined forces with the digital publishing platform Exact Editions to offer individual and institutional subscribers unlimited access to a searchable archive of fascinating back issues and every newly published issue. This brand new resource is available cross-platform on web, iOS and Android and offers a comprehensive search function, allowing the title’s cultural content to be delved into at the touch of a button.
Digital Subscription: £18.99 / $18.99 (1 year)Subscribe now