- What’s On
It is uncertain when this church was built but when the then Director of the Turkish Mint Boğos Amira Bilezikçi passed away in 1851, his will instructed for the small wooden church to be given to the Catholic Patriarchate of Istanbul Armenians. In 1859, the foundation bought the land next to the church and extended its garden. Due to the rising population of the Catholic Armenian community in the area, the church was destroyed and a new one built out of stone was erected in 1882. A home for monks, a school and other wooden houses were also built around it. The church has been renovated a few times since and today it is the prettiest in the neighbourhood, with its attractive cream-coloured frontage.
Cornucopia has joined forces with the digital publishing platform Exact Editions to offer individual and institutional subscribers unlimited access to a searchable archive of fascinating back issues and every newly published issue. This brand new resource is available cross-platform on web, iOS and Android and offers a comprehensive search function, allowing the title’s cultural content to be delved into at the touch of a button.
Digital Subscription: £18.99 / 1 yearSubscribe now